Working Groups & Committees

Through its working groups, Electricity Human Resources Canada brings together industry experts to address workforce challenges, especially the pending labour shortage within industry.

We currently have four working groups across the country with three more yet to be established. The working groups have been organized by regions. So far, we’ve established groups for Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta and Atlantic; others are planned for Prairies (Manitoba and Saskatchewan), North/Off-Grid (Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut) and Quebec.

The working groups strengthen relationships and encourage collaboration in finding solutions to industry HR issues, including:

  • Adequacy of  training facilities/infrastructure to meet industry needs
  • Challenges and issues for workforce initiatives dependent on rate review and regulatory protocols
  • Immigration barriers to industry workforce supply
  • Lack of awareness among youth and applicants of opportunities within the industry
  • Rural and remote work challenges for the industry

The groups meet three or four times a year either via teleconference or with a face-to-face meeting. All members get regular updates on projects their working group is involved, as well as those undertaken by Electricity Human Resources Canada nationally.

List of Steering Committees and their Organizations

Empowering Futures Steering Committee

  • Ontario Power Generation
  • TransAlta
  • Fortis BC
  • Ryerson University
  • College of North Atlantic
  • Canadian Council of Technicians and Technologists
  • Nalcor
  • Spark Power
  • Georgian College
  • Lassonde School of Engineering York University

Workforce in Motion (LMI) National Steering Committee

  • Electricity Distributors Association (EDA)/Burlington Hydro
  • Ontario Power Generation, Cameco (Canadian Nuclear Association)
  • National Electrical Trade Council (NETCO), College of New Caledonia
  • BC Hydro
  • Fortis BC
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Power Workers’ Union
  • Engineer’s Canada
  • Canadian Council of Technicians and Technologists (CCTT)
  • NB Power
  • Carleton University

Alberta LMI  Steering Committee

  • Alberta Independent Electricity System Operator (AESO)
  • AltaLink, Capital Power Corporation
  • Government of Alberta
  • IBEW Local Union 254
  • Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)
  • TransAlta, University of Calgary
  • ENMAX Corporation
  • Electrical Contractors Association of Alberta
  • Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA)
  • Canadian Solar Industries Association (CanSIA)

Connected Women Steering Committee

  • Ontario Power Generation
  • Status of Women Canada
  • Power Workers’ Union
  • Hydro Ottawa
  • Manitoba Hydro
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
  • Electrofederation/WESCO
  • Algonquin College
  • Hydro One
  • Women in Nuclear – Canada
  • University of Toronto
  • Society of Energy Professionals

Valuing People with Disabilities in the Workplace Project Advisory Committee

  • Burlington Hydro
  • Horizon Utilities
  • LiveWorkPlay
  • Mental Health Commission of Canada
  • New Brunswick Community College
  • Newfoundland Power
  • Ontario Power Generation
  • Powerstream
  • The Society of Energy Professionals