Annual Awards of Excellence

2018 EHRC Awards of Excellence

These awards celebrate the extraordinary achievements of those individuals and organizations at the forefront of industry HR best practice and leadership.

To recognize these contributions, Electricity Human Resources Canada (EHRC) introduced the awards of Excellence. These awards celebrate the extraordinary achievements while giving national recognition to employees, teams, or leaders who are making a positive and tangible impact on the workforce, awards are given in the following categories:

  • Leader of the Year: Rob Lister
  • Emerging Leader of the Year
  • Innovation in HR Practices – Educational / Training Institution Award
  • Innovation in HR Practices – Employer Award
  • Workplace Diversity and Inclusion Champion Award

Congratulations Rob Lister, President and CEO of Oakville Enterprises

For over 37 years, Rob has served and provided leadership in the energy and infrastructure sectors. Rob Lister has grown OEC and its family of businesses to become a leading energy and infrastructure services organization throughout Ontario and beyond. Through 12 operating brands, OEC operates a dynamic portfolio of synergistic businesses specializing in electricity distribution, infrastructure services, energy services, and generation. Rob’s commitment to innovation and people at OEC is well-known. His participation and input on a wide range of provincial and national boards shows the respect he has garnered from peers, as well as his commitment to the industry overall.

Speaking on behalf of Electricity Human Resources Canada’s Selection Committee, Michelle Branigan, CEO EHRC, congratulated Mr. Lister: “We are delighted to announce Rob Lister as this year’s recipient. Rob is an outstanding leader in our industry who walks the talk on all fronts. The performance of his company and his overall contributions to our sector is second to none.”

Other 2018 Awards of Excellence Winners

Leader of The Innovation in HR Practices – Educational / Training Institution Award: IBEW Local 37 Training Trust Fund

IBEW Local 37 Training Trust Fund is the recipient of the Leader of the Innovation in HR Practises: Education/Training Award. This award was established to provide recognition to those institutions who educate and/or train the next generation of employees for the present and future needs of our electricity sector.

Leader of The Innovation in HR Practices– Employer Award: Hydro Ottawa

Hydro Ottawa is the recipient of the Leader of the Innovation in HR Practises: Employer Award. This award recognizes the individual or team who has displayed a high degree of innovation in the design and implementation of a unique Human Resources program and/or project and can demonstrate or anticipate or derive business value from the same.

     The Workplace Diversity and Inclusion Award: Sara Phinney at Nova Scotia Power

Sara Phinney at Nova Scotia Power is the recipient of the Workplace Diversity and Inclusion Award. This award recognizes and celebrates professionals who champion diversity and inclusion, are role models for developing and cultivating diversity strategies in their organisation, as well as communicating the rationale for these strategies at all levels.

The Emerging Leader of the Year Award: Courtnay de Rooy from Fortis BC

Courtnay de Rooy at Fortis BC is the recipient of the Emerging Leader of the Year Award. This award was established to recognize and encourage early-career professionals who have demonstrated significant promise of leadership in their career with their current organisation. The recipient is an employee with less than ten years of industry experience, an innovative thinker whose accomplishments have motivated their peers, and has demonstrated their dedication to the organisation and the electricity industry.

Guest Speaker: Dr. Bill Howatt

We are pleased to announce Dr. Bill Howatt as this year’s Guest Speaker at the Awards of Excellence 2018.

With over 25 years of experience working with senior executives at progressive and successful organizations nationally and internationally, William Howatt Ph.D., Ed.D., is widely recognized for his expertise in mental health, coping skills, strategic HR and management effectiveness.

With special experience and insight in the area of executive coaching, his clients have included senior leaders in major manufacturing companies, executives of top-tier financial institutions, independent professionals and provincial and federal government leaders.

Powering Tomorrow, with Mark Chapeskie

Held in advance of the Awards luncheon, EHRC’s Director of Programs, Mark Chapeskie will host an interactive panel discussion that explores the importance of shaping the future of our most important resource: Our people. Recent labour market intelligence suggests that the electricity sector has a low youth participation rate when compared to the Canadian labour force more generally. What does ‘youth’ mean in today’s economy? The panel will explore such issues as youth engagement and retention as well as the barriers youth face when entering the electricity sector. Issues such as the internationalization of education, adaptation to special needs and an exploration of why it is important to engage youth now will all be examined by this experienced group of professionals.

Confirmed Panelists

  • Bill Angelakos, Ph.D., P.Eng., Dean, Technology and Visual Arts, Georgian College
  • Nicole Parsons, Senior Manager, HR Corporate Services, Nalcor Energy
  • Nicole Miller, Assistant Director, Learning and Professional Development, University of Ottawa
  • Robyn Simpson, Talent Acquisition Associate, FortisBC
  • Aisling O’Doherty, Policy Analyst -Safety Risk, Policy & Innovation, Electrical Safety Authority

Join Us

In advance of the luncheon, EHRC will also host a discussion titled: Powering Tomorrow – Shaping the future of our most important resource: our people – led by EHRC’s Director of Programs, Mark Chapeskie. The recipients of the awards, will be announced at EHRC’s Awards of Excellence Luncheon to be held on February 21, 2019 at Vantage Venues Conference Centre, 150 King Street West, 16th Floor, Toronto, Ontario. The EHRC Awards of Excellence Luncheon brings together business leaders and human resource professionals in the Electricity Sector, and is attended by employers, labour, education, and government representatives working for and with the sector. The aim of this event is to connect, convene and inspire the industry.

Vantage Venues Conference Centre Map

Click the map below to view:


Sponsorship opportunities available! Click here to learn more.