2016 EHRC Awards of Excellence

To see the highlights from last year’s event, click here
Conference Venue: St. Andrew’s Club & Conference Centre, 150 King St. West, Toronto, ON

December 8th, 2016 – Toronto, Ontario

The electricity workforce event of the year!

The Electricity Human Resources Canada 2016 Awards of Excellence Luncheon is dedicated to the electricity and renewable energy industry workforce.

This afternoon national event brings business leaders and human resource professionals together. Attended by employers, labour, education, and government representatives working for and with the sector, the aim of this event is to connect, convene and inspire the industry. It represents a unique opportunity to collaborate and learn with your peers.

EHRC’s Awards of Excellence will be presented at a special luncheon. These awards celebrate extraordinary achievements and give national recognition to the champions of excellence who are making a positive and tangible impact on the workforce.

Networking – 11:30am

Luncheon and Awards – 12:00pm to 2pm

Hotels: For those in need of overnight accommodations the following hotels will provide a special rate. Please note that you are attending an event at St Andrew’s Club & Conference Centre upon booking to recieve the special rate.

Le Germain Hotel

One King West

The Ritz Carlton

2016 EHRC Awards of Excellence Leader of the Year

EHRC is pleased to annouce our 2016 Leader of the Year:


Mr. Marsh has been a leading figure in Saskatchewan’s electricity industry for almost 25 years. Joining SaskPower in 1991, Mr. Marsh began his career in engineering and maintenance. He spent the next two decades playing a key role across a number of business functions and in 2014 took the helm as President and CEO. He brings leadership to this role which is borne out of his experience and passion for the business. He is widely regarded and respected by his colleagues and peers in the sector. As SaskPower continues to make significant investments in the province’s electrical system, Mr. Marsh recognizes the valuable contribution of the workforce in leading the industry through a time of change and renewal.

Keynote Speakers

EHRC is delighted to announce our Keynote Speakers:


Appointed Deputy Minister of Energy in Spring 2012, Serge Imbrogno has an extensive background in economic and electricity policy. Prior to his appointment, Serge was Assistant Deputy Minister of the Corporate and Electricity Finance Division in the Ontario Financing Authority since March 2008. He has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation since April 2008. Serge has also held senior positions at the Ministry of Finance, in the former ministries of Industry, Trade and Technology and Consumer and Commercial Relations and at the Regional Municipality of Hamilton-Wentworth.


Mr. Bruce Campbell has been President and the Chief Executive Officer of Independent Electricity System Operator since May 2013. Under Mr. Campbell’s leadership, the IESO oversees the safe and reliable operation of Ontario’s bulk electrical system − one of the most diversified, reliable and efficient markets in the world. Mr. Campbell has over 30 years of regulatory and executive experience in the energy sector. In his most recent position as Vice President of Resource Integration, Mr. Campbell oversaw preparations in power system operations for the integration of  wind and solar generation in the province. Recruited from a successful legal career, where he regularly appeared before the Ontario Energy Board and other tribunals, Mr. Campbell joined the IESO as Vice President, Regulatory and Legal Affairs in 2000. In addition, Mr. Campbell serves on NERC’s Member Representative Committee and on the ISO/RTO Council, which works to develop effective processes, tools, and standard methods for improving competitive electricity markets across North America. A member of the Law Society of Upper Canada, Mr. Campbell also holds the Institute of Corporate Directors ICD.D (Certified Director) designation.

We will be posting conference announcements on Twitter and Facebook in the coming weeks.
Join the conversation and Tweet with the Hashtag #EHRC16.

For more information about the EHRC 2016 HR Awards of Excellence:

Michelle Branigan
Chief Executive Officer
613-235-5540 ext. 235