2013 EHRC Conference Program At A Glance*


Conference Venue: Hotel InterContinental Toronto Centre



  • Speaker bios now available. ClickSpeaker bios(PDF)

  • Be sure to check back regularly as we announce the exciting details about our great lineup of guest speakers and the important topics they will be presenting. It promises to be the electricity workforce event of the year!  Stay tuned for announcements via Facebook and Twitter hashtag: #ElectricityHR13 !


    Wednesday November 6, 2013*

    7:30am – 8:30am
    Continental Breakfast Buffet

    8:15am – 10:15am
    Opening Ceremonies and Plenary

        • Keynote Speaker

          The Elusive Career Choice – A Community Leadership Perspective

          Sean Conway, Distinguished Research Fellow, Centre for Urban Energy at Ryerson University

      Plenary 1 – CEO Panel: Future Labour Force Needs for Business Success
      Norm Fraser, Chair EHRC Board and COO Hydro Ottawa

          • Panelists:
            Carmine Marcello (President & CEO, Hydro One)
            Tom Mitchell (President & CEO, Ontario Power Generation)
            Emanuel DaRosa (President & CEO, Northwest Territories Power Corporation)
            Earl Ludlow (President & CEO, Newfoundland Power Inc.)
          • Colin Andersen (CEO, Ontario Power Authority)


      10:15am – 10:30am
      Network Coffee Break

      10:30am – 12:15pm
      Concurrent Sessions:

          • 101: Developing your Organisation’s Knowledge Strategy
            Vivian Yoanidis, Manager, People and Culture Projects, Hydro One.
            Blake Melnick, President and Chief Knowledge Officer, the Knowledge Management Institute of Canada (KMIC)
          • 102: The Aboriginal Advantage – Employing Aboriginal People in the Electricity Workforce and Supply Chain
            Jeannie Cranmer, Aboriginal Education and Employment Strategy Manager, BC Hydro
            Confirmed Panelists:
            Maria Moran, Benefits and Training Lead, Nalcor Energy
            Lisa Farano, President, Elephant Thoughts Educational Outreach
            Brian Pelletier, Aboriginal Coordinator, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 793


      12:15pm – 1:45pm

      Lunch with Keynote Speakers

      Confirmed Speakers:
      Sonya Gulati, Senior Economist, Government Finance and Public Policy, TD Bank

      Economic Outlook

      Julian Chapman, VP Consulting & Business Solutions, Forrest & Company Limited.and Brigadier-General, Deputy Commander, 4th Canadian Division / Joint Task Force Central, Army Reserves

      Power Managers

      Accountability and the Not-so-Secret Weapon in the Electricity Talent Challenge


      1:45 – 2:00pm
      Visit our exhibits

      2pm – 4pm
      Concurrent Sessions:

          • 201: Bridging the Gap – Attracting and Retaining Women in the Electricity Industry

              Suzanne Desrosiers, Executive Director, Human Resources Development, New Brunswick Community CollegePanelists:
            Cheryl Cottrill, Executive Director, Women in Nuclear

            Judy McKellar, Vice-President People & Culture, Hydro One Networks
            Kim MacLaren, Owner, KD MacLaren Consulting Inc.

          • 202: Renewing Futures – Building Powerful HR Strategies for Canada’s Renewable Energy WorkforceModerator: Jacob Irving, President, Canadian Hydropower Association

            Ted Kantrowitz, Vice President, Canadian GeoExchange Coalition
            Tom Levy, Manager of Technical and Utility Affairs, Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA)
            Gary Thompson, Supervisor, Generation Planning & Transmission Capacity, Toronto Hydro
            Bill Empey, Managing Director and Partner at Prism Economics & Analysis
            Wes Johnston, Director of Policy and Research at Canadian Solar Industries Association (CanSIA)
            Doug Hooper, Partner, Waterfall Group


      4pm – 4:15pm
      Network Coffee Break

      6pm – 7pm
      Gala Reception

      7pm – 9:30pm
      Award Gala & Dinner

      Come celebrate a very special evening with your peers as we provide national recognition for the achievements of individuals and companies working in the electricity and renewable sector in Canada.

      Keynote Speaker: The Honourable Yasir Naqvi, Minister of Labour
      Emcee: Norm Fraser, Chair EHRC Board and COO Hydro Ottawa


      Thursday November 7, 2013*

      7:30am – 8am
      Continental Breakfast Buffet

      8am – 9:30am

    • Keynote Speaker

      The Honourable Jason Kenney, Minister of Employment and Social Development


    Plenary 2 – Training Canada’s Workforce – The Role of Government

    Moderator:  Al Clark, Senior Advisor, Natural Resources Canada

    John Somers, Senior Executive Director, Skills and Learning Branch, Department of Labour and Advanced Education
    Carolyn Windsor, Human Resources Manager, PowerStream Inc.
    Bryan Young, Manager, Channel Strategy and Training, Ontario Power Authority

    9:30 – 10:00am
    Workshop: Employee Engagement – The Powerful Impact of an Engaged Workforce
    Speaker:    John Wright, President & Managing Director, Canadian Management Centre

    10am – 10:15am
    Network Coffee Break

    10:15am -10:45am
    Plenary 3 – Training & Development. A Structured Approach.
    Speaker:  Greg Comis, HR Manager of Training Atco Electric

    10:45am -11:30am
    Plenary 4 – Managing Succession as a Strategic Lever
    Audra August, Principal, Succession & Talent Planning Solutions, Knightsbridge Human Capital Solutions

    11:30am – 12:15pm
    Plenary 5 – Creating the Workforce of Tomorrow – Industry/Education Partnerships in Action

      Nimal Rajapakse, Professor and Dean of Foculty of Applied Sciences, Simon Fraser University


    Lyne Parent-Garvey, Chief Human Resources Officer, Hydro Ottawa Group of Companies
    Dan Brooks, Associate Dean, Georgian College of Applied Arts and Technology
    Dr. Hassan Farhangi, Smart Micro Grid Network, Director of the Group for Advanced Information Technology (GAIT), British Columbia Institute of Technology
    Sean Conway, Distinguished Research Fellow, Centre for Urban Energy

    12:20pm – 1:20pm
    Lunch with keynote speaker

    Employee engagement at all levels of the organization

    Keynote Speaker: Angela Ferrante, Board of Directors, Via Rail and the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO)

    1:20pm – 1:30pm
    Closing Remarks


    *Program is subject to change without notice.